Love Song to Anne Frank

because paper has more patience than people 

I touched you through the pages of a story
And my fingertips hurt with the pain of imagination

the only girl I ever loved
was born with roses in her eyes

All love songs are tragedies
Love is the picture postcard
I never sent because

the earth looks better from a star

that’s right above from where you are

All love songs are tragedies
This love song too shall end
But the music in you for a second
Was the music in me
For a second that stretched through
Burning paper into ashes
Through the musics of the universe
Into immortality

but now he rides a comet’s flame

and won’t be coming back again

Music does not die
The song melts into another
Until every second is music
Every life is music
I could never touch your skin
But my fingers remember

“I don’t want to have lived in vain like most people. I want to be useful or bring enjoyment to all people, even those I’ve never met. I want to go on living even after my death!”

“I don’t have much in the way of money or worldly possessions, I’m not beautiful, intelligent or clever, but I’m happy, and I intend to stay that way!”

Inspired by, and containing lyrics from basically the most important song I’ve ever heard.

Leave a Reply

