Shelley’s Cloud

yesterday I stared long into you
I am the eye, so,
I became you

“I am the daughter of Earth and Water,
         And the nursling of the Sky;
I pass through the pores of the ocean and shores;
         I change, but I cannot die.
For after the rain when with never a stain
         The pavilion of Heaven is bare,
And the winds and sunbeams with their convex gleams
         Build up the blue dome of air,
I silently laugh at my own cenotaph,
         And out of the caverns of rain,
Like a child from the womb, like a ghost from the tomb,
         I arise and unbuild it again.”
On a random side note, I studied The Cloud some time long long ago in school. Back then, the Wiki page for it had this one critic dude’s comment (which it obviously still has, seeing as I forgot all about it, it being long long ago) Anyway, this description of Shelley while at work with The Cloud is tasty as fuck.
“He is still at play, save only that his play is such as manhood stops to watch, and his playthings are those which the gods give their children. The universe is his box of toys. He dabbles his fingers in the dayfall. He is gold-dusty with tumbling amidst the stars.”
Leave a Reply

