My troubles in Hindi

I began learning to live, so as to speak, when I was 5. My school taught me a lot of things. Manners, English, Prayers, Computers, Maths, Reading and others. But IT DID NOT TEACH ME HINDI. I was blissfully unaware of the very existence of the damn national language as a subject to learn.

When I was eight, my mom thought (due to my intelligence) to put me in an ICSE school. No offense, but its better. And it teaches Hindi. Fine, I said, teach me, I will learn. But then I found that I had missed two years of a very basic understanding of the language. Therefore, when the entire class started writing whole sentences in Hindi, I learnt the very rudiments of the language, the alphabet. In third grade, I managed to finish second last in Hindi. It completely brought down my percentage. As the years rolled by, my marks in Hindi were curiously static. My scores were more predictable than the Australia vs Zimbabwe cricket match. By the time I was in 8th grade, I had failed every year in Hindi. In 8th, my grand total, out of 300 freaking marks, was a 40. I knew I needed some help. But I, being a quintessential male, did not ask for it. Hindi was a mental block, something I had begun to actually hate. It was like a leech, they suck your blood like nobody’s business, and then the people say that they are actually good for health.

I would not speak in Hindi. I would not write in Hindi. I would not think in Hindi. Maybe I could not, thats what I thought anyway. 9th grade was much better than 8th. I actually got 62/300. My Dad gave me pep talks, (in English), my mom gave me pep talks(in Hindi) and my grand-mom gave me pep talks(in Tamil)

10th grade began with a flourish. 20 marks. I knew I was jeopardizing my boards. I decided to wait a bit. 2nd term, 16 marks. I took the plunge, and decided to take private tuitions.  6 days before my prelims. No teacher is as helpless as my tuition teacher was. Obviously she was not from Nazareth. She just asked me to practice. And I did that. A lot. I wrote a lot, I spoke a lot. I did not sleep at all for 4 days, and I got 50. Now, thats pretty good. Buoyed by good results, (it was the first time I passed in Hindi, ever) I studied for my boards with great confidence. I studied my ass off, and I got 76 marks in my boards. Now, thats not good. Its horrible. It sucks. It sucks more than what a fasting butterfly does to a juicy flower.

I had written a poem on this very subject. Its entitled “Elegy to the Death of a Hated one” It goes like this.

Oh hated one, Ye

Troubled me for many so years

In Thy ever strangling noose

I shed so many tears

But I have triumphed over you!

I will never be troubled again by you!

Oh hated one, Ye

With Your deadly script

As sharp as a knife

Me, in my bud You nipped

But I have triumphed over You!

I will never be troubled again by You!

Oh hated one, Ye

When with Thy words You did

Irritate me, Your incompetence was never lost

on me with your fumes so acrid

But I have triumphed over You!

I will never be troubled again by You!

Oh hated one, Ye

Thy pointed quill

Which lived of me blood is now

gone till the Sun is still

Therefore I have triumphed over You!

I will never be troubled again by You!

O hated one, Ye

Since I was a kid, You

Stifled me. With Thy actions

Did you myself subdue

But I have triumphed over You!

I will never be troubled again by You!

O hated one, It

Is impossible to gauge, how much

One Hated you. Hated you enough

To be done with you as such.

Therefore I have triumphed over You!

I will never be troubled again by You!

O hated one, It

Was not me who finished

You. It was those ghastly memories,

with which I was punished.

Therefore I have triumphed over You!

I will never be troubled again by You!

O hated one, You

Did never think of ever

Being nothing, Did you?

But with all hates Fever

I triumphed over You!

I will never be troubled again by You!

Language aside, good stuff? I certainly thought so.

But, when I was reading this thing a few days ago, I understood something. I did not hate Hindi anymore. Today, I actually read literature in Hindi. I can’t understand much, but I try. Its not so bad anymore. I found I can speak Hindi as well as I could English. Obviously, my Hindi is very slangy, very Mumbai. But its Hindi. Unmistakably.  Why this??? Well, it teaches a very important lesson!!!

What lesson? I can’t really say… :/

3 thoughts on “My troubles in Hindi

  1. I had trouble learning Marathi too. But by the end I knew to circumvent by problems with Marathi – I would just add a ‘ch’ at the end of everything when I found it hard to figure whether it should be a ‘chi’ or ‘chya’. Lol!

  2. Nice bud, and the most inspiring part is you put up a fight for 8 years and in the end you triumphed …loved it …..i gave up hindi on 8th …i still remember my annual exam answer paper, just 1 page(one side) …and the results came….my hindi teacher knew me well, she was kind enough to give me a 40{outa 100} ..
    maybe she knew the formalities of an Undertaking promotion ….anyway …glad i read your post 🙂

  3. we only learnt Marathi till 8th grade, and it was at a very low level. I still struggle when people talk very fast in Marathi though. The ‘ch’ bit is so funny, I should have used that before!!! I used to use ‘aahe’ everywhere. 😛

Leave a Reply

